to the quality of life

overlay logo
pay-bill-online-icon Online
Bill Pay
agendas-and-minutes-icon Agendas
& Minutes
permits-and-forms-icon Permit
& Forms
job-opening-icon Job
latest-news-icon Lastest
agendas-and-minutes-icon Sign Up
To Receive
Agendas By Email

City Council

The Bushnell City Council consists of five voting members: Mayor, Vice Mayor and three members each running on four year terms for seats one through five and each having one vote. The Council Chambers are located on the first floor of the Bushnell City Hall at 117 E. Joe P. Strickland, Jr. Avenue.

An affirmative vote of three members is necessary to transact municipal business. The City Council’s regular meetings are held once monthly on the first Monday of the month at 6:00 PM.

The City Council legislate City Ordinances, adopt Resolutions, approve policies, adopt budgets, set the milage rate and conduct other municipal business.

The current Council consists of :

  • Mayor – Bil Spaude
  • Vice Mayor – Karen Davis
  • Council Members:
    • Joe P. Strickland Jr
    • Dale Swain
    • Marge Thies

Councilman Swain has held office for over 30 years.

Bil Spaude

The Mayor of the City of Bushnell presides over all City Council meetings. Signs all ordinances, resolutions, contracts and other legal documents. Officiates over all ceremonial events. Mayor is an elected position and runs for a four-year term on the Bushnell City Council. The mayor has one vote at all city council meetings.

Bil Spaude was elected during the December 2010 election and began his first four year term on January 1, 2011. He began his third four year term on January 1, 2019.

Additional Info
  • Title                                      Mayor
  • In office since:                      2011
  • Term:                                    4 years
  • Ending in:                             12/31/2022
  • Seat:                                     1

Christina Dixon

Office located at Bushnell City Hall:
117 E. Joe P. Strickland, Jr. Avenue (352) 793-2591 Monday–Friday 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 P.M.

The City Clerk’s office is responsible for the public records, city ordinances and resolutions, as well as supervisor of the municipal elections, and various other municipal duties.

Any questions or concerns referencing public records, business tax, finances, personnel issues, or City Council issues should be directed to the City Clerk’s office to

Additional Info

Title                                        City Clerk
In office since:                         2015
Term:                                      4 years
Ending in:                               12/31/2020
Seat:                                       City Clerk

Karen Davis

e791ab626e6785062374d45b25cc6e7f_SCouncilwoman Karen Davis was elected to the Bushnell City Council in 2014, and began her term of office in January 2015. She is a long time resident of the Bushnell community, and graduated in the Class of 1978, and furthered her education by attending Brevard Community College. Councilwoman Davis is married to Winston Davis Sr. and they have 3 children and 9 grandchildren. She began her career at Sumter County Association for Retarded Citizens (SCARC), Inc. in 1986, where she started out as a training specialist working with clients, and teaching them health and safety skills and how to adapt in the community. Councilwoman Davis is the manager of the two group homes which are owned by SCARC. She is very excited about the opportunity to serve the citizens of the Bushnell community. Councilwoman Davis is currently serving her second term on the City Council and was recently elected to the position of Vice-Mayor on January 7th, 2019.

Additional Info
Title                                          Vice Mayor
In office since:                           2015
Term:                                        4 years
Ending in:                                 12/31/2022
Seat:                                         5

Marge Thies

Marge Thies_02122021Marge Thies was sworn in as the City of Bushnell’s newest City Council member on January 4th, 2021. She has replaced the seat of Bill Durham, however, Ms. Thies is already familiar with city politics. Marge first became a city resident in July of 1984. She decided to run for a City Council seat in 1992, and although she faced what was said to be a tough opponent, she went on to serve as a member of the Bushnell City Council for six years. Over the years Ms. Thies has served on various boards and committees for The City of Bushnell. In 2014 she was honored by the City Council and the City of Bushnell with a Resolution expressing appreciation for her dedications, devotions and contributions to the city. Twenty-eight years later, with the deadline for qualifying drawing near, Ms. Thies decided to qualify once more and ran un-opposed. As a council member, she encourages residents to become involved by offering these words, “I would like to see more citizens attend the council meetings. The citizens should be involved in the business of the city. Bushnell is growing and things will never be the same. That is not necessarily a bad thing.”. We once again welcome Ms. Marge Thies as a City Council member and look forward to the next four years! 

Additional Info

Title                                      Councilwoman
In office since:                       2021
Term:                                    4 years
Ending in:                            12/31/2024
Seat:                                    2

Joseph P. Strickland, Jr.

7a6409a35f8223f856dc99651cb33cb1_SCouncilman Joe P. Strickland Jr. was appointed by the Bushnell City Council Members on October 3, 2016 to fulfill the vacancy that was left by the passing of Councilwoman Kay McCoy.

Councilman Strickland has been a resident of Bushnell for 66 years, and served as Mayor of the City of Bushnell from 1982-2011. His mother, Margaret Strickland served as the Bushnell City Clerk from 1962-1981, creating a long-standing public service history by the Strickland family in the community.

Additional Info

Title                                       Councilman
In office since:                        2016
Term:                                     4 years
Ending in:                              12/31/2022
Seat:                                      3


Dale Swain

b320775de3c297425b69dccc362220a9_SCouncilman Dale Swain was originally elected to the Bushnell City Council in December 1988. Councilman Swain has served the citizens of Bushnell for over 30 years and was recently re-elected during the 2016 election. Councilman Swain is retired from the Sumter County School system.

Additional Info

Title                                        Councilman
In office since:                        1988
Term:                                      4 years
Ending in:                               12/31/2020
Seat:                                       4